Li Ka Shing is given a palm branch from the Einstein tree at Guangdong Technion - Israel Institute of Technology establishment ceremony

EINSTEIN AND TECHNION

“Israel can win the battle for survival only by developing expert knowledge in technology.”

-- Prof. Albert Einstein, President of the first Technion Society


The development of technical and scientific opportunities for the Jewish people, particularly at the new Technikum (former name of Technion), were vital to Prof. Albert Einstein. In 1923, Einstein visited the Technion. During his visit, he planted a now-famous first palm tree. The tree still stands today in front of the Technion’s original building. Einstein returned to Germany to set up the first Technion Society, and served as its chairman. He was later to tour America to raise funds for higher-education in Palestine, an issue he said he held "close to his heart." Einstein's motivation was not nationalistic, but humanistic. "I do what I can to help those in my tribe who are treated so badly everywhere," he said.

Albert Einstein visits Technion in 1923

Nobel Laureate Albert Einstein used to play violin in a string quartet with historic Technion architect and faculty member Prof. Alexander Baerwald. In the recession after WWI, dreams of making the Technion a functioning reality were slim, and Einstein was invited to come visit the waiting buildings designed by his friend and to advise on the dream of opening a technical institute in Haifa. On that day, the Nobel Laureate and his wife planted two trees to mark the occasion. On his return to Berlin, Einstein would open and chair the world's first Technion society – the initiation of an apparatus that would generate a century of progress, teaching and expansion, as decade after  decade, the Technion would anticipate and meet the needs of a fledgling nation.


The Einstein legacy continues with four Technion Nobel laureates in nine years. In 2004, Profs. Aaron Ciechanover and Avram Hershko received Israel's first Nobel Prizes in Science. In 2011, Prof Dan Shechtman followed on and in 2013, Prof. Arieh Warshel received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry.

ADMISSIONS

Undergraduate

Graduate

Address: 241 Daxue Road, Jinping District, Shantou, Guangdong Province, China

© 2017 GUANGDONG TECHNION-ISRAEL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY

2015年12月,在广东以色列理工学院启动仪式上,李嘉诚先生获赠一支取自“爱因斯坦树”的棕榈树枝。

爱因斯坦故事

“只有发展科技专业知识,以色列才能赢得这场生存之战。”

——阿尔伯特•爱因斯坦 教授,以色列理工学院学会首任主席

发展科学技术,尤其是建立一所新的理工科院校,这是爱因斯坦教授认为对整个犹太民族来说最有投资价值的项目。1923年,爱因斯坦访问以色列理工学院。访问期间,他种下了第一棵如今十分著名的棕榈树,时至今日,该树依旧屹立于哈达尔的以色列理工学院旧教学楼前。回到德国后,爱因斯坦成立了以色列理工学院第一届学会并亲自担任主席。而后他又走访美国,为高等教育事业筹募资金——他说这是他“最上心的事”。之所以着力推动此事,爱因斯坦更多地是出于人道主义精神,而非从国家角度考虑。他说:我要尽我所能地帮助我的民族。”

1923年,爱因斯坦到访以色列理工学院

诺贝尔获得者阿尔伯特•爱因斯坦过去常常和以色列理工学院的建筑师兼教师、亚历山大•贝尔沃德教授一起,在弦乐四重奏乐队中弹奏小提琴。二战后的萧条期间,成立以色列理工学院的梦想显得十分渺茫,爱因斯坦受邀到海法介绍他对成立这所理工院校的设想,并参观由其朋友设计的建筑。当天,这位诺贝尔奖获得者与他的妻子栽下了两棵树以纪念此事。回到柏林后,爱因斯坦创立了第一个以色列理工学院学会并担任其主席,由此开启了一个促成教育发展和传播的新模式。


爱因斯坦精神在以色列理工学院的诺贝尔获得者(共3位教师、1名校友)身上得到了延续。2004年,阿龙•切哈诺沃和阿夫拉姆•赫什科共同获得以色列第一个诺贝尔科学奖。丹•谢赫特曼教授以及亚利耶•瓦谢尔教授则分别在2011年和2013年荣获诺贝尔化学奖。

学校介绍
校长期许
学校概况
愿景与使命
大事记
奠基典礼
领导架构
学校特色
爱因斯坦故事
诺奖获得者
创客天地
联系方式
信息公开
校园生活
校区简介
北校区
南校区
住宿生活
学生活动
健康与福利
学生资助
体育休闲
学生行为
美丽汕头
教学科研
学术团队
专业设置
本科学习要求
校历
预备课程课表
Moodle
交流项目
实习项目
招生信息
招生动态
招生计划
招生章程
奖助学金
咨询服务
录取查询
招聘信息
教职招聘
行政人员招聘
新闻通道
最新消息
媒体视角
CONTACT US
联系方式

地址:广东省汕头市大学路241号

邮编 :515063

© 2017 广东以色列理工 版权所有 | 粤ICP备17036470号

Design by SHANGCE