WELCOME MESSAGE

  • Prof Li Jiange

  • Prof Aaron Ciechanover

  • Prof Eliezer Shalev

Good morning! Today, we gather here to celebrate the second opening ceremony of Guangdong Technion-Israel Institute of Technology (GTIIT). On behalf of the faculty  and staff, please allow me to extend a warm welcome and sincere congratulations to all the new students of GTIIT. Dear freshmen, as you are just about to start your college life, especially at a Sino-foreign cooperative university as distinctive as GTIIT, I believe your hearts are filled with joy and aspiration at this moment.

 

Your choice to apply to GTIIT and to become a professional in science and technology is wise and forward-looking and is urgently needed for national development and revitalization. GTIIT, a research university that focuses on science and engineering, is the only national cooperative project in the field of education between China and Israel.  GTIIT is  responding to the call of Guangdong Province to establish a "top university" and Shantou intends to invest heavily in the establishment of an advanced  laboratory for chemical manufacturing by relying on GTIIT. GTIIT will  become an important base for education and scientific research in eastern Guangdong, Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macau Greater Bay Area, and South China. It will surely be the "Promised Land" for you to reach your full capacity and realize your dreams. 

 

At GTIIT, you will experience a  new way of learning. We encourage our students to question and think independently, to  evaluate everything with critical thinking. Whether in the classroom or the laboratoriy, you should not confine yourself to accepting existing theories and ideas, but you should be courageous enough to challenge authority and textbooks. You will need to change the learning habit of following orders compliantly and listening to teachers obediently that you are used to in primary and secondary school.

 

Dear students, please fully explore your curiosity, keep acquiring new knowledge, and never lose the passion for the pursuit of truth. Creativity and curiosity are two inseparable qualities. Almost all major scientific discoveries were initiated by curiosity. A spark of curiosity and imagination may lead to a discovery that could change the world. Dare to be unconventional and think the unthinkable, let curiosity be the driving force of innovation, and leave your footprints on the advancement of science.   


To help you adapt to college life and study as soon as possible, especially to the English immersion teaching model at GTIIT, we have designed a five-week pre-semester program for you. We hope this will enable each of youto successfully take the leap from passive acceptance to active participation in your studies. 

 

The transition may not be easy, but you do not need to be afraid or worried. In fact, when the pre-semester program ended last year, the first cohort of students was highly praised by the professors, who believed that the freshmen at GTIIT outperformed those at the Technion in basic subjects. So you should give yourself the credit you deserve.

 

In particular, it should be noted that on the path to scientific discovery, you must learn to raise questions besidessolving problems. The ability to ask the right questions is more important than the ability to solve problems. GTIIT will emphasize the ability to ask the right questions,  and lifelong learning.

 

Gaokao scores are no doubt an important criterion for student admission, but make no mistake, the scores only represent the performance of the past, and cannot fully reflect anyone's  true potential. Now you are atn the same starting line. You should know that in the past year, the hard work of the first cohort has shown that the teaching model of GTIIT can tap the full potential of each student, making him or her more excellent.

 

Over the past year, among the many students who have been recognized by their professors for high academic performance, several did not have top Gaokao scores. Not long ago, we  announced the winners of the academic excellence scholarship for the Class of 2017. We are happy to see that four winners, who did not receive the Chancellor Scholarship at the time of enrollment, have achieved their full potential through a year of diligent study. Some of our students also participated in the harnessing project of River Lian in Shantou, starting to make strides in scientific endevours.

 

We believe that in the future, even more students will achieve excellence. Even though no unversity in the world can guarantee that every graduate will be outstanding, we are confident that GTIIT can do so for large percentage of its graduates. GTIIT enjoys strong support from many people. At this important moment of GTIIT, we need to express our sincere thanks to the leaders at all levels of the Central Government, Guangdong province, Shantou municipality, Shantou University, and the Technion. We will always be grateful to Mr. Li Ka-shing for his generous endowment and great contribution to GTIIT.

 

I also wish to take this opportunity to extend my heartfelt appreciation to the faculty, staff and researchers of GTIIT. Over the past year, the members of our faculty have imparted their expertise without any reservation, using wisdom to guide the students to academic success; our researchers have achieved excellent scientific outcomes within a short period of time, boosting our confidence and determination to build GTIIT into a top research university. I also want to thank our administrative staff who have devoted themselves to the development and smooth operation of GTIIT.

 

Dear students, from today onwards, you will embark on a new journey as college students. I hope you will constantly explore, discover, and innovate in the next four years, to raise yourselves from dependence to independence, from obdiance to innovation, and from good to exceptional. I sincerely wish that each one of you can develop your own special talent, achieve success with diligence and hard work, and become influential in your choosen field of science and technology.


Thank you all!






——Speech at GTIIT Opening Ceremony

August 13, 2018




Resume

Professor. Li Jiange

Mr. Li Jiange isthe Chairman of the Board of Trustees of Sun Yefang Foundation. Chancellor of Guangdong-Technion Israel Institute of Technology.He wasCo-Head of Tsinghua University National Institute of Financial Research. Chairman of ShenYin & WanGuo Securities co., Ltd. Chairman of China International Capital Corporation Limited (CICC), Vice Minister of Development Research Center (DRC) of the State Council;Vice Minister of the State Council Office for Restructuring the Economic System,Vice Chairman and then Executive Vice Chairman of China Securities Regulatory Commission,Chief of Staff of the Securities Commission of the State Council. He had also worked as Deputy Director General and then Director General of the Department of Policy and Regulation of the State Economic and Trade Commission, Deputy Director General of Policy Research Office of the State Planning Commission. He is concurrently Professor and Supervisor for Ph.D. students at the Graduate School of Chinese Academy of Social Sciences, Tsinghua PBCSF and School of Finance of Renmin University of China. He has been trustee of Sun Yefang Foundation of Economics and Member of its Awarding Committee since 2002. He was elected Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Foundation in 2009.

I’m very happy to join the Technion effort to build GTIIT in China’s Guangdong Province. I intend to do everything in my power to make GTIIT a state-of-the-art and world-renowned leading university, and infuse it with the highest standards of academic life, research, and teaching.


While the main thrust of the Institute at its outset will be environmental sciences, in due course I see it branching into two closely interconnected areas. I believe that in the 21st century our efforts will focus on the three following fields. The first field is the environment, and how to correct the mistakes of the 20th century, in which humanity turned a clean environment in a dirty one - spoiling our natural resources, burning up fossil fuels and creating holes in the ozone layer.


The second field is energy. We need to look for greener, cleaner sources of energy to counter the high rate of consumption of fossil fuels that were accumulated underneath the earth for millions and millions of years.


The third interconnected field is human health. As a physician, scientist, and researcher, I am occupied with human health issues, and especially the environmental effects on human health, including cancer, which is greatly affected by environmental factors like UV radiation, contamination, and air pollution.


As we embark in Shantou on a program in environmental sciences, I look forward to expanding, in the near future, to programs on energy resources and human health.


Israel and China both represent ancient civilizations, with tremendous traditions of teaching and education. We are looking forward to a joint collaboration in which we both learn from each other and together advance science for the benefit of humanity.


I invite you to join us as we embark on this wonderful journey.”


—————A letter from Vice Chancellor, professor Aaron Ciechanover

Resume

Professor Aaron Ciechanover

Aaron Ciechanover was born in Haifa, Israel in 1947. He is a Distinguished Research Professor in the Technion - Israel Institute of Technology in Haifa. He received his M.Sc. (1971) and M.D. (1973) from the Hebrew University in Jerusalem. He then completed his national service (1973-1976) as military physician, and continued his studies to obtain a doctorate in biological sciences in the Faculty of Medicine in the Technion (D.Sc.; 1982). There, as a graduate student with Dr. Avram Hershko and in collaboration with Dr. Irwin A. Rose from the Fox Chase Cancer Center in Philadelphia, USA, they discovered that covalent attachment of ubiquitin to a target protein signals it for degradation. They deciphered the mechanism of conjugation, described the general proteolytic functions of the system, and proposed a model according to which this modification serves as a recognition signal for a specific downstream protease. As a post- doctoral fellow with Dr. Harvey Lodish at the M.I.T., he continued his studies on the ubiquitin system and made additional important discoveries. Along the years it has become clear that ubiquitin-mediated proteolysis plays major roles in numerous cellular processes, and aberrations in the system underlie the pathogenetic mechanisms of many diseases, among them certain malignancies and neurodegenerative disorders. Consequently, the system has become an important platform for drug development.


Among the numerous prizes Ciechanover received are the 2000 Albert Lasker Award, the 2003 Israel Prize, and the 2004 Nobel Prize (Chemistry; shared with Drs. Hershko and Rose). Among many academies, Ciechanover is member of the Israeli National Academy of Sciences and Humanities, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (Foreign Fellow), the American Philosophical Society, the National Academy of Sciences of the USA and the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies of the USA (Foreign Associate), the Pontifical Academy of Sciences at the Vatican, the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS; Foreign Member), and the Russian Academy of Sciences (Foreign Member).

Resume

Eliezer Shalev, M.D., is Chair Professor at the Faculty of Medicine at Technion-Israel Institute of Technology. He received his MD from the Technion and is regarded as one of Israel's leading experts in obstetrics and gynecology.


Dr. Shalev has held the Technion’s administrative position of dean of medicine, as well as other distinguished positions such as chairman of the Israeli Ministry of Health's National Council for Obstetrics Gynecology, Genetics and Neonatology. President of the Israeli Society of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Chairman of the Technological and Medical Infrastructure Advisory Committee and of the Advisory Committee for the Chief Scientist of the Israeli Ministry of Health. He also served on the Israeli Science Foundation's Advisory Committee on Medicine and the International Federation for Obstetrics and Gynecology's advisory panel on maternal and perinatal health.

ADMISSIONS

Undergraduate

Graduate

Address: 241 Daxue Road, Jinping District, Shantou, Guangdong Province, China

© 2017 GUANGDONG TECHNION-ISRAEL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY

校长期许

  • 李剑阁

  • 阿龙·切哈诺沃

今天,我们在此欢聚,出席广东以色列理工学院(GTIIT)的首届开学典礼。这是我们的缘分,也是我们的福分。此时此刻不同寻常的喜悦和激情,必将以靓丽的一页永载我校史册。

在此,我代表全体教职员工,热烈欢迎和衷心感谢同学们加入GTIIT。祝贺你们成为GTIIT的创校校友。你们将在今后的日子里,见证中以合作创办的世界一流研究型理工科大学,从诞生到发展的初创历程。

在过去短短的几年里,GTIIT从提议变为共识、从蓝图成为现实,多少人为此付出了大量心血。这里请允许我提议同学们和家长们,用你们的热烈掌声,诚挚感谢在暑期没有休息,辛勤工作在招生录取、校园建设、开学筹备等各个岗位上的GTIIT全体教职员工。

同学们:在今后的四年里,我们将有信心让事实证明,你们报考GTIIT是一个明智的选择,是一个让你们永不后悔、终身引以为骄傲的选择。

我们深深地知道,你们填报志愿时选择GTIIT,就是对我们投下了一张张信任票。我们的录取通知书,就是一份份责任承诺书。你们和你们的父母把你们人生最宝贵的青春时光托付给了我们,GTIIT的全体教职员工深感肩负的责任重如泰山。

GTIIT是中以两国在教育领域唯一的国家层面的合作项目,是根据中外合作办学条例,由汕头大学和以色列理工学院(Technion)发起建立、具有独立法人地位的大学。我们为什么要与Technion合作?要向犹太文明借鉴什么?GTIIT要走一条怎样的独特创新之路?这两天入学教育的日程中,会安排一个讲座,我将与大家分享我个人对这些问题的思考。

社会上有一句十分流行的话:不要让自己或自己的孩子“输在起跑线上”。因此,我相信在座的同学和家长,难免有与其他更高分录取的学校相比的心结。但是,人生不是短跑,甚至也不是马拉松。人生更像汽车拉力赛,只要比赛没有结束,继续努力,不言放弃,下一个阶段就有弯道超车的机会。

GTIIT非常重视激发学生的自信。在我们眼里,你们都是理科和英语成绩出色的优秀学子,具备优异的智商情商、学业基础和意志品质。在GTIIT提供的赛道上,你们可以挥别过去,拥抱未来,张扬个性,再创辉煌。

已故以色列前总统、诺贝尔和平奖获得者佩雷斯,两年前在GTIIT的奠基仪式上说,他小时候放学回家妈妈会问两句话:一句是你今天向老师提了什么好的问题;一句是你今天讲了什么让同学印象深刻的话。这就是典型的犹太文化的教育和思辨的理念,他们提倡独立思考,挑战权威,标新求异,质疑一切。

多年习惯于灌输式、应试式教育,转轨到启发式、思辨式的全新学习环境,对大家肯定是很大的挑战。在GTIIT的课堂,你们要充分发挥自己的好奇心和想象力,敢于发问,勇于辩论。教授不会因为你问题的幼稚而轻视你,相反会因为你问题的尖锐又切中要害而高看你。

爱因斯坦说过:“大学教育的价值不在于记住很多事实,而是训练大脑会思考”。GTIIT培养的学生不能仅仅是现有知识的传承者,而应该是未知世界的探索者和创新者。GTIIT更重视学生终身学习能力,以应对未来日新月异、瞬息万变的科技发展和产业转型。

在这里,必须特别强调,GTIIT的建立始终得到了中央政府和广东省、汕头市、汕头大学各级领导的大力支持。我们心中充满了感激和敬意。我们的回报,就是为社会源源不断地输送德才兼备、文理兼通的高素质创新型人才。GTIIT将会始终把立德树人和培养正确的价值观、人生观、世界观放在十分重要的位置。

我们要永远感谢李嘉诚先生。李先生为GTIIT的建立,提供了巨额捐赠,做出了卓著贡献。我们要铭记李先生“要做事,先做人”、要“建立自我,追求无我”的箴言,感恩社会,回馈社会。

同学们:GTIIT的目标是办成一所规模不大的精品型、研究型大学。请你们放心,美丽而精致的校园,完全放得下满足你们研习的书桌,也一定能够容纳你们放飞梦想的雄心!

——在首届新生开学典礼上的致辞

2017年8月14日



简历

李剑阁,现任孙冶方经济科学基金会理事长、中央汇金投资有限责任公司副董事长、广东以色列理工学院校长。曾任清华大学国家金融研究院联席院长、申银万国证券股份有限公司董事长、中国国际金融有限公司董事长、国务院发展研究中心副主任、国务院经济体制改革办公室副主任、中国证券监督管理委员会副主席、常务副主席、国务院证券委员会办公室主任、国家经济贸易委员会政策法规司副司长、司长、国家计划委员会政策体改法规司副司长、研究室副主任,十一届全国政协委员。担任中国社会科学院研究生院、清华大学五道口金融学院、中国人民大学财政金融学院教授、博士生导师。2002年后担任孙冶方经济科学基金会理事、评奖委员会委员,2009年当选为基金会理事长。

非常高兴能参与GTIIT的创建,我将不遗余力地致力于将GTIIT建设成为一所先进的知名大学,使其学术、教学、科研水平都达到最高标准。

一开始学院发展的推力应会是环境科学。在21世纪我们将朝以下3个领域努力。第一个领域是环境,如何修正我们在20世纪犯下的错误,如破坏自然资源、燃烧化石燃料、破坏臭氧层等,破坏了原本清洁的环境。第二个领域是能源,我们需要寻找更环保、更清洁的能源来应对化石燃料的高消耗率,其原本在地球上是花费了数百万年时间才生成的。第三个相关领域是人类健康。作为一名物理学家、科学家和研究者,我一直在关注人类健康问题,特别是环境因素对人类健康的影响,包括癌症等。紫外线辐射、土地污染、空气污染等环境因素都会对人类健康造成巨大影响。

我们开始在汕头推行环境科学计划,期待在不久的将来,能扩大至推行有关于能源资源和人类健康的多项计划。

以色列和中国都是古老文明的代表,在教育教学方面拥有悠久的传统。期待共同的合作能相互学习,推动科学发展,造福人类。

欢迎您加入我们这个美妙的旅程。”

————一封来自阿龙·切哈诺沃的信

简历

1947年出生于以色列海法市,以色列理工学院杰出教授。1971年获耶路撒冷市希伯莱大学理学硕士学位,1973年获该校医学博士学位。1973年至1976年间,他担任军队医生,随后继续在色列理工学院的医学院学习深造,并获得生物科学博士学位。在研究生阶段,他与阿夫拉姆•赫什科博士、美国费城福克斯蔡斯癌症中心的欧文•罗斯博士共同发现了泛素降解向目标蛋白质发出的共价连接信号,破译了接合的机理,描述其中的一般蛋白水解功能,并提出模型表明这一变体为下游蛋白酶的识别信号。随后在麻省理工大学哈维•罗迪西博士的带领下从事博士后研究,期间他继续研究泛素系统,并取得了其他一些重大发现。多年研究表明,泛素介导的蛋白降解途径在细胞变化过程中扮演重要作用,系统的畸变也是导致很多病变的致病机理,包括恶性肿瘤和神经退行性疾病。因此,该系统已经成为药物开发的一个重要平台。

Aaron Ciechanover博士获得众多奖项和荣誉,包括2000年度Albert Lasker奖、2003年度以色列奖章,并与赫什博士和罗斯博士共同获得2004年度诺贝尔化学奖。同时,他在众多学术机构中均有任职,目前是以色列国家科学人文学院的成员,并在美国艺术与科学院、美国哲学协会、美国国家科学院、医学研究所任外籍研究员,也是梵蒂冈宗座科学院、中国科学院和俄罗斯科学院的外籍院士。

今天已没有人再怀疑,科技和创新是建立个人和集体财富的强大动力;

今天已没有人相信,天赋和想象力、层次思考、睿智,是可以被指挥或主导;

创新力是无法模压的,只有通过有内涵的教育和健全法制,才可期待创新能力和创新信心,成为打造自主、公平、快乐和丰盛未来的核心动力。

以色列理工学院创办人之一,爱因斯坦说过:‘活出人生,只有两道,一是认为世上毫无奇迹,一是相信一切皆可以是奇迹。’这话的滋味——今天87岁的我,能深深体会——为缔造有希望的未来,我是永远不会停下脚步。大家不要甘心当奇迹的等待者,我们一定要是奇迹的成就者。让今天就是明天奇迹的开始!”

广东以色列理工学院,将是发展科技,寻找智慧之家;期待这里的能量能被有效发挥——为我们深爱的祖国大地,为了我们彼此共存的世界,贡献和创造更光辉的未来——世世代代能在尊严、自由和快乐中发挥精彩。”

——在广东以色列理工学院(筹)启动仪式上的致辞

2015年12月16日

学校介绍
校长期许
学校概况
愿景与使命
大事记
奠基典礼
揭牌仪式
领导架构
学校特色
爱因斯坦故事
诺奖获得者
创客天地
联系方式
信息公开
校园生活
校区简介
住宿生活
学生活动
健康与福利
学生资助
体育休闲
学生行为
美丽汕头
教学科研
学术团队
研究生教育
科研
本科教育
招生信息
本科招生
研究生招生
招聘信息
教职招聘
博士研究生招聘
行政人员招聘
新闻通道
最新消息
媒体视角
CONTACT US
联系方式

地址:广东省汕头市大学路241号

邮编 :515063

© 2017 广东以色列理工 版权所有 | 粤ICP备17036470号

Design by SHANGCE