Academic Staff

Daniel Tan

Associate Professor, Materials Science and Engineering Deputy Program Head

Daniel Tan joined the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at GTIIT as an Associate Professor in August 2018. Dr. Tan received a Ph. D. in Materials Science and Engineering from University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (UIUC) in 1998, and a Ph.D in Solid State Physics from Chinese Academy of Science in 1989 following Academician T.S.Ke. After serving in University of Science and Technology of China for 4 years as a faculty, he moved to the United States as a visiting scientist (Argonne National Laboratory and UIUC) in 1994-1995. He joined Honeywell Corp. in 1998 as a Sr. Scientist to develop high-K ferroelectric materials for semiconductor industry. During 2000-2004, he was recruited to CTS Corp. as a Sr. Staff Engineer to develop high performance piezoelectric transducers and cell phone antenna materials. In the following 12 years, he dedicated his passion, innovation and pioneering efforts in Nanodielectrics and Energy Storage to General Electric. In 2016, he joined W.L.Gore as a Sr. Polymer Dielectric Scientist to further the high performance polymer investigations for capacitor and membrane technology. 

 

Dr. Tan has authored/co-authored over 50 journal papers, 2 college teaching textbooks, 3 book chapters, and 50 corporate internal reports. As an innovator, he holds 50 patents and trade secrets in the field of ceramics, polymers, energy storage and electronic components. He has pioneered development in nanodielectric composites, high temperature and high energy density capacitors as a principal scientist for industry and US government. He is the recipient of 18 various awards including the First Place Prize of Natural Science Award of Chinese Academy of Science (1993) and GE Global Research Innovation Award (2008). He is a member of MRS, ACERS, SPIE, iMAPS and IEEE and reviewers of several journals.

 

The Tan group focuses on future generation functional materials for energy needs, in particular on the synthesis of nanocomposites with carefully crafted nano to mesoscale structures which lead to emergence of super-dielectric property (capacitive and resistive), advanced electromechanical property (piezoelectric) and thermoelectric properties. The group combines thin film coating and analytical techniques with advanced spectroscopic methods to probe physics of interfaces and dielectric phenomena in materials with non-ideal structures under extreme conditions. The group also has considerable research interests in high temperature capacitor and electrochemical capacitor technologies that rely on high energy-density dielectric films and nano-enabled electrode materials for electronic devices. 


CLOSE

ADMISSIONS

Undergraduate

Graduate

Address: 241 Daxue Road, Jinping District, Shantou, Guangdong Province, China

© 2017 GUANGDONG TECHNION-ISRAEL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY

我是 学生 教职 员工 访客 ENGLISH

学术团队

谭启

教授,材料科学与工程系副主任

谭启教授于2018年8月加入广东以色列理工学院材料科学与工程学院。谭启教授1998年获得伊利诺伊大学厄巴纳-香槟分校材料科学与工程博士学位,1989年获得中国科学院固体物理研究所博士学位,师从葛庭燧院士。随后4年,他任教于中国科学技术大学。1994-1995年,谭启教授前往美国阿贡国家实验室及伊利诺伊大学厄巴纳-香槟分校担任访问科学家。1998年,他加入霍尼韦尔国际公司,担任高级科学家并开发半导体行业所需的高K介电常数铁电材料。2000-2004年,他受聘于CTS公司,担任高级工程师,负责开发高性能压电传感器和手机天线材料。随后12年,他就职于美国通用电气公司,致力于开创性纳米复合材料电子及储能的研究。2016年,他加入W.L.Gore(戈尔私营公司)担任高级科学家,进一步开展高温电容器和多空薄膜过滤技术的研究。


谭启教授发表、联合发表超过50篇期刊文章、2本大学教材、3本书籍章节及50份企业内部报告。作为一个创新者,他在陶瓷、聚合物、储能和电子器件领域拥有50项专利及商业秘密。作为企业及美国政府科技项目的首席科学家,率先开发了纳米绝缘介电复合材料、高温高能量密度电容器。 谭启教授获得多个奖项,包括1993年中国科学院自然科学奖一等奖,2008年通用电气全球研究中心创新奖等18个奖项。他同时还是MRS, ACERS, SPIE, iMAPS and IEEE等学术机构的成员及多家期刊的评审人。


谭启教授的科研团队致力于解决能源需求的下一代功能性材料,特别是纳米复合材料的合成,从纳米到中等结构尺度的精心调控,使其出现超介电性能(电容和电阻)、先进的机电性能(压电)和热电性能。该团队将薄膜涂层和分析技术与先进的频谱法相结合,探索极端条件下非理想结构材料中的界面物理和介电现象。该团队的研究方向还包括高温电容器和电化学超级电容器技术,这些技术依赖于高能量密度介电薄膜和用于电子器件的纳米电极材料。

关闭

CONTACT US
联系我们

本科招生: 86-0754-88077088、88077060

咨询信箱:admissions@gtiit.edu.cn

研究生招生:rigs@gtiit.edu.cn

应聘信箱:hr@gtiit.edu.cn

投稿邮箱:news@gtiit.edu.cn


地址:广东省汕头市大学路241号

邮编 :515063

© 广东以色列理工学院 版权所有 | 粤ICP备17036470号

Design by SHANGCE