WELCOME MESSAGE

  • Prof Li Jiange

  • Prof Aaron Ciechanover

Good morning! Today, we gather here to celebrate the second opening ceremony of Guangdong Technion-Israel Institute of Technology (GTIIT). On behalf of the faculty  and staff, please allow me to extend a warm welcome and sincere congratulations to all the new students of GTIIT. Dear freshmen, as you are just about to start your college life, especially at a Sino-foreign cooperative university as distinctive as GTIIT, I believe your hearts are filled with joy and aspiration at this moment.

 

Your choice to apply to GTIIT and to become a professional in science and technology is wise and forward-looking and is urgently needed for national development and revitalization. GTIIT, a research university that focuses on science and engineering, is the only national cooperation project in the field of education between China and Israel.  GTIIT is  responding to the call of Guangdong Province to establish a "top university" and Shantou intends to invest heavily in the establishment of an advanced  laboratory for chemical manufacturing by relying on GTIIT. GTIIT will  become an important base for education and scientific research in eastern Guangdong, Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macau Greater Bay Area, and South China. It will surely be the "Promised Land" for you to reach your full capacity and realize your dreams. 

 

At GTIIT, you will experience a  new way of learning. We encourage our students to question and think independently, to  evaluate everything with critical thinking. Whether in the classroom or the laboratoriy, you should not confine yourself to accepting existing theories and ideas, but you should be courageous enough to challenge authority and textbooks. You will need to change the learning habit of following orders compliantly and listening to teachers obediently that you are used to in primary and secondary school.

 

Dear students, please fully explore your curiosity, keep acquiring new knowledge, and never lose the passion for the pursuit of truth. Creativity and curiosity are two inseparable qualities. Almost all major scientific discoveries were initiated by curiosity. A spark of curiosity and imagination may lead to a discovery that could change the world. Dare to be unconventional and think the unthinkable, let curiosity be the driving force of innovation, and leave your footprints on the advancement of science.   


To help you adapt to college life and study as soon as possible, especially to the English immersion teaching model at GTIIT, we have designed a five-week pre-semester program for you. We hope this will enable each of youto successfully take the leap from passive acceptance to active participation in your studies. 

 

The transition may not be easy, but you do not need to be afraid or worried. In fact, when the pre-semester program ended last year, the first cohort of students was highly praised by the professors, who believed that the freshmen at GTIIT outperformed those at the Technion in basic subjects. So you should give yourself the credit you deserve.

 

In particular, it should be noted that on the path to scientific discovery, you must learn to raise questions besidessolving problems. The ability to ask the right questions is more important than the ability to solve problems. GTIIT will emphasize the ability to ask the right questions,  and lifelong learning.

 

Gaokao scores are no doubt an important criterion for student admission, but make no mistake, the scores only represent the performance of the past, and cannot fully reflect anyone's  true potential. Now you are atn the same starting line. You should know that in the past year, the hard work of the first cohort has shown that the teaching model of GTIIT can tap the full potential of each student, making him or her more excellent.

 

Over the past year, among the many students who have been recognized by their professors for high academic performance, several did not have top Gaokao scores. Not long ago, we  announced the winners of the academic excellence scholarship for the Class of 2017. We are happy to see that four winners, who did not receive the Chancellor Scholarship at the time of enrollment, have achieved their full potential through a year of diligent study. Some of our students also participated in the harnessing project of River Lian in Shantou, starting to make strides in scientific endevours.

 

We believe that in the future, even more students will achieve excellence. Even though no unversity in the world can guarantee that every graduate will be outstanding, we are confident that GTIIT can do so for large percentage of its graduates. GTIIT is endowed with strong support from many people. At this important moment of GTIIT, we need to express our sincere thanks to the leaders at all levels of the Central Government, Guangdong province, Shantou municipality, Shantou University, and the Technion. We will always be grateful to Mr. Li Ka-shing for his generous endowment and great contribution to GTIIT.

 

I also wish to take this opportunity to extend my heartfelt appreciation to all the faculty, staff and researchers of GTIIT. Over the past year, our faculties have imparted their expertise without any reservation, using wisdom to guide the students to academic success; our researchers have achieved excellent scientific outcomes within a short period of time, boosting our confidence and determination to build GTIIT into a top research university. I also want to thank our administrative staff who have been devoting themselves to the development and smooth operation of GTIIT.

 

Dear students, from today on you will embark on a new journey as college students. I hope you will constantly explore, discover and innovate in the next four years, to improve yourself from dependence to independence, from abidance to innovation, and from being good to exceptional. I sincerely wish that every one of you can display your talent, achieve success with diligence and hard work, and become influential in each field of science and technology.


Thank you all!






——Speech at GTIIT Opening Ceremony 2018

August 13, 2018




Resume

Professor. Li Jiange

Mr. Li Jiange isthe Chairman of the Board of Trustees of Sun Yefang Foundation. Chancellor of Guangdong-Technion Israel Institute of Technology.He wasCo-Head of Tsinghua University National Institute of Financial Research. Chairman of ShenYin & WanGuo Securities co., Ltd. Chairman of China International Capital Corporation Limited (CICC), Vice Minister of Development Research Center (DRC) of the State Council;Vice Minister of the State Council Office for Restructuring the Economic System,Vice Chairman and then Executive Vice Chairman of China Securities Regulatory Commission,Chief of Staff of the Securities Commission of the State Council. He had also worked as Deputy Director General and then Director General of the Department of Policy and Regulation of the State Economic and Trade Commission, Deputy Director General of Policy Research Office of the State Planning Commission. He is concurrently Professor and Supervisor for Ph.D. students at the Graduate School of Chinese Academy of Social Sciences, Tsinghua PBCSF and School of Finance of Renmin University of China. He has been trustee of Sun Yefang Foundation of Economics and Member of its Awarding Committee since 2002. He was elected Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Foundation in 2009.

I’m very happy to join the Technion effort to build GTIIT in China’s Guangdong Province. I intend to do everything in my power to make GTIIT a state-of-the-art and world-renowned leading university, and infuse it with the highest standards of academic life, research, and teaching.


While the main thrust of the Institute at its outset will be environmental sciences, in due course I see it branching into two closely interconnected areas. I believe that in the 21st century our efforts will focus on the three following fields. The first field is the environment, and how to correct the mistakes of the 20th century, in which humanity turned a clean environment in a dirty one - spoiling our natural resources, burning up fossil fuels and creating holes in the ozone layer.


The second field is energy. We need to look for greener, cleaner sources of energy to counter the high rate of consumption of fossil fuels that were accumulated underneath the earth for millions and millions of years.


The third interconnected field is human health. As a physician, scientist, and researcher, I am occupied with human health issues, and especially the environmental effects on human health, including cancer, which is greatly affected by environmental factors like UV radiation, contamination, and air pollution.


As we embark in Shantou on a program in environmental sciences, I look forward to expanding, in the near future, to programs on energy resources and human health.


Israel and China both represent ancient civilizations, with tremendous traditions of teaching and education. We are looking forward to a joint collaboration in which we both learn from each other and together advance science for the benefit of humanity.


I invite you to join us as we embark on this wonderful journey.”


—————A letter from Vice Chancellor, professor Aaron Ciechanover

Resume

Professor Aaron Ciechanover

Aaron Ciechanover was born in Haifa, Israel in 1947. He is a Distinguished Research Professor in the Technion - Israel Institute of Technology in Haifa. He received his M.Sc. (1971) and M.D. (1973) from the Hebrew University in Jerusalem. He then completed his national service (1973-1976) as military physician, and continued his studies to obtain a doctorate in biological sciences in the Faculty of Medicine in the Technion (D.Sc.; 1982). There, as a graduate student with Dr. Avram Hershko and in collaboration with Dr. Irwin A. Rose from the Fox Chase Cancer Center in Philadelphia, USA, they discovered that covalent attachment of ubiquitin to a target protein signals it for degradation. They deciphered the mechanism of conjugation, described the general proteolytic functions of the system, and proposed a model according to which this modification serves as a recognition signal for a specific downstream protease. As a post- doctoral fellow with Dr. Harvey Lodish at the M.I.T., he continued his studies on the ubiquitin system and made additional important discoveries. Along the years it has become clear that ubiquitin-mediated proteolysis plays major roles in numerous cellular processes, and aberrations in the system underlie the pathogenetic mechanisms of many diseases, among them certain malignancies and neurodegenerative disorders. Consequently, the system has become an important platform for drug development.


Among the numerous prizes Ciechanover received are the 2000 Albert Lasker Award, the 2003 Israel Prize, and the 2004 Nobel Prize (Chemistry; shared with Drs. Hershko and Rose). Among many academies, Ciechanover is member of the Israeli National Academy of Sciences and Humanities, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (Foreign Fellow), the American Philosophical Society, the National Academy of Sciences of the USA and the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies of the USA (Foreign Associate), the Pontifical Academy of Sciences at the Vatican, the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS; Foreign Member), and the Russian Academy of Sciences (Foreign Member).

In this day and age, no one has an iota of doubt that technological innovation underpins a country’s ability to create collective wealth, and is the key impetus to individual success. Creativity is the defining centrepiece of our time—powering us into the future. Talent, imagination, meta-thinking and qualitative intelligence could neither be moulded, controlled nor channeled. Establishing a creative paradigm is not easy to set right, only through education and the rule of law can we build a free and fair, fun and fruitful future for all.


One of the founders of Technion Albert Einstein said,’There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle.’


These are words that resonate deeply in me. No one can afford to sit and wait for miracles—miracles don't just happen! You make them happen. I am 87 years old, my unchanging promise is that I will never stop pushing forward for a more hopeful future.”


GTIIT will be the home for the wise and innovators. With the profound impact it will bring to mankind and my beloved homeland, I envision a wonderful world for everyone—for generations to thrive with dignity, freedom and happiness.”


——Speech at the GTIIT Inauguration Ceremony

December 16, 2015

ADMISSIONS

Undergraduate

Graduate

Address: 241 Daxue Road, Jinping District, Shantou, Guangdong Province, China

© 2017 GUANGDONG TECHNION-ISRAEL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY

冀望与期许

  • 李剑阁

  • 阿龙·切哈诺沃

  • Eliezer Shalev

亲爱的同学们、尊敬的各位来宾、各位家长、各位同事:


华南的八月骄阳似火,仿佛是同学们激情燃烧的热度。在此,我谨代表广东以色列理工学院(GTIIT)全体教职员工对大家成为学校新的一员表示衷心的祝贺!祝愿你们在未来学习生涯中一帆风顺、取得更大进步!


你们真是无比幸运的一代。每逢开学典礼,我都有种激动和艳羡的心情,久久难以平静。正好是五十年前,我们这代人失去了深造的机会,青春年华散落在了山村水乡、边疆荒原。在前途迷茫的日子里,有些人颓废消沉。但也有人以苦难磨炼自己的意志,以学习充实自己的心灵。正是那些在逆境中搏击的人终于战胜了岁月,多年后重新进入大学,乘着四十年改革开放的东风,在不同岗位上奋起,做出了重要的贡献。有些人成为领导当今中国的中坚力量。


而你们出生在新的世纪,这是中国数千年前所未有的最好时期。今天,你们正确选择了GTIIT,又开启了一段新的精彩人生。


你们在报考前一定对GTIIT有了细致的了解。但百闻不如一见,入校后你们已经亲眼看到现代化的漂亮校园。在预备期你们会慢慢感受到国际一流师资的风采。GTIIT的老师来自全球17个国家,100%在一流大学获得博士学位,100%在海外有多年的教学和科研经验。他们带来的世界各国先进的教学理念和研究方法,可以极大地提升学校的格局,开阔学生的视野。


GTIIT作为广东最年轻的高校入选省“冲一流、补短板、强特色”提升计划,现有四个学科被列为广东省高水平大学重点建设学科,而且被指定为化学与精细化工广东省实验室建设的依托单位,充分体现GTIIT在广东和全国的重要学术地位。


GTIIT加入了以色列理工学院的国际学生交换和交流平台,我校学生将有机会前往美国、德国、加拿大等国家和地区的26所世界一流理工科大学深造。当然,交流学习对成绩有相当高的要求,这些机会需要十分努力才能得到。


建议这些天你们安排时间参观被外籍教授赞叹为“国际一流”的教学和科研实验室。我们拥有“全球最先进、最安全”的教学研究设备,充足的实验资源,实力雄厚的实验室教学和科研团队。这保证了你们能够得到一流的科学实验条件。


同学们,你们从中学到大学,已翻开了人生的崭新篇章。你们离开父母的照顾和督促,获得了一定的自由空间,自我管理的能力就变得格外重要。希望你们能够做好学习管理、时间管理、情绪管理、形象管理和目标管理。


华裔诺奖获得者朱棣文在一次对哈佛学生的讲演中说:“当你开始生活的新阶段,请追随内心的那份热爱。如果没有,就去找,找不到就决不罢休。生命太短暂,所以不能空手走过,你必须对某样东西倾注你的深情。我在你们这个年纪,超级的一根筋,我的目标就是一定要成为物理学家。”从今天开始,你们首先要顺利通过预备期的学习,尽快适应全英语理工科教学的环境,深深地沉浸于你们的专业爱好。


我们正处于百年未有之大变局。科学突破日新月异,技术迭代瞬息万变。大学教育不仅仅是灌输书本知识,我们更加注重培养自由思考、大胆质疑的学习习惯,训练创新型的思维方法和终身学习的能力。要让你们能够永远跟上时代的步伐,“标新立异”和“异想天开”就应该是一种值得倡导的优秀品质。四年虽短,却可能重铸你生命的品位和质量。


同学们,在完成各项理工科学业的同时,希望你们能够积极参与社会实践,淬炼全面素质,提升人文关怀,培养大爱之心。大爱既是一种处世哲学,也是一种生活智慧。希望每个同学都要树立起无愧于时代的社会责任担当。


我想借此机会,感谢中央政府、广东省、汕头市、以色列理工学院和汕头大学各级领导的关心和大力支持。感谢李嘉诚先生的慷慨捐赠和卓越贡献。感谢关心和帮助过GTIIT的热心家长和社会人士,感谢GTIIT所有的教学、科研和行政人员。正是因为有大家的关心和共同努力,GTIIT 才能取得一系列的成绩。


同学们,你们赶上了GTIIT快速优质发展的好时候,希望你们在这里大显身手,放飞梦想,和GTIIT一起风帆高悬,鹏程万里,驶向成功的彼岸!


谢谢大家!



——2019年开学典礼致辞

2019年8月12日



简历

李剑阁,现任孙冶方经济科学基金会理事长、广东以色列理工学院校长。曾任清华大学国家金融研究院联席院长、申银万国证券股份有限公司董事长、中国国际金融有限公司董事长、国务院发展研究中心副主任、国务院经济体制改革办公室副主任、中国证券监督管理委员会副主席、常务副主席、国务院证券委员会办公室主任、国家经济贸易委员会政策法规司副司长、司长、国家计划委员会政策体改法规司副司长、研究室副主任。担任中国社会科学院研究生院、清华大学五道口金融学院、中国人民大学财政金融学院教授、博士生导师。2002年后担任孙冶方经济科学基金会理事、评奖委员会委员,2009年当选为基金会理事长。

非常高兴能参与GTIIT的创建,我将不遗余力地致力于将GTIIT建设成为一所先进的知名大学,使其学术、教学、科研水平都达到最高标准。

一开始学院发展的推力应会是环境科学。在21世纪我们将朝以下3个领域努力。第一个领域是环境,如何修正我们在20世纪犯下的错误,如破坏自然资源、燃烧化石燃料、破坏臭氧层等,破坏了原本清洁的环境。第二个领域是能源,我们需要寻找更环保、更清洁的能源来应对化石燃料的高消耗率,其原本在地球上是花费了数百万年时间才生成的。第三个相关领域是人类健康。作为一名医生、科学家和研究者,我一直在关注人类健康问题,特别是环境因素对人类健康的影响,包括癌症等。紫外线辐射、土地污染、空气污染等环境因素都会对人类健康造成巨大影响。

我们开始在汕头推行环境科学计划,期待在不久的将来,能扩大至推行有关于能源资源和人类健康的多项计划。

以色列和中国都是古老文明的代表,在教育教学方面拥有悠久的传统。期待共同的合作能相互学习,推动科学发展,造福人类。

欢迎您加入我们这个美妙的旅程。”

————一封来自阿龙·切哈诺沃的信

简历

1947年出生于以色列海法市,以色列理工学院杰出教授。1971年获耶路撒冷市希伯莱大学理学硕士学位,1973年获该校医学博士学位。1973年至1976年间,他担任军队医生,随后继续在色列理工学院的医学院学习深造,并获得生物科学博士学位。在研究生阶段,他与阿夫拉姆•赫什科博士、美国费城福克斯蔡斯癌症中心的欧文•罗斯博士共同发现了泛素降解向目标蛋白质发出的共价连接信号,破译了接合的机理,描述其中的一般蛋白水解功能,并提出模型表明这一变体为下游蛋白酶的识别信号。随后在麻省理工大学哈维•罗迪西博士的带领下从事博士后研究,期间他继续研究泛素系统,并取得了其他一些重大发现。多年研究表明,泛素介导的蛋白降解途径在细胞变化过程中扮演重要作用,系统的畸变也是导致很多病变的致病机理,包括恶性肿瘤和神经退行性疾病。因此,该系统已经成为药物开发的一个重要平台。

Aaron Ciechanover博士获得众多奖项和荣誉,包括2000年度Albert Lasker奖、2003年度以色列奖章,并与赫什博士和罗斯博士共同获得2004年度诺贝尔化学奖。同时,他在众多学术机构中均有任职,目前是以色列国家科学人文学院的成员,并在美国艺术与科学院、美国哲学协会、美国国家科学院、医学研究所任外籍研究员,也是梵蒂冈宗座科学院、中国科学院和俄罗斯科学院的外籍院士。

简历

Eliezer Shalev教授是医学博士,以色列理工学院医学院讲座教授。

他在以色列理工学院获得医学博士学位,被认为是以色列妇产科研究领域的权威专家之一。除担任以色列理工学院医学院院长一职外,Eliezer Shalev教授还兼任多个重要行政职务,包括以色列卫生部妇产科、遗传学和新生儿学科全国委员会主席、以色列妇产科学会会长、科技和医疗基础设施咨询委员会主席、 以色列卫生部首席科学家咨询委员会主席等。其还曾任职于以色列科学基金会的医学咨询委员会以及国际妇产科联合会——孕产及围产保健顾问小组。

学校介绍
冀望与期许
学校概况
愿景与使命
大事记
奠基典礼
揭牌仪式
领导架构
学校特色
爱因斯坦故事
诺奖获得者
创客天地
联系方式
招标采购
信息公开
校园生活
校区简介
住宿生活
学生活动
健康与福利
学生资助
体育休闲
学生行为
校园服务系统
美丽汕头
教学科研
学术团队
科研
博士后研究员
研究生教育
本科教育
Moodle
Welcome Packet
招生信息
本科招生
研究生招生
招聘信息
教学科研老师
科研支持人员
通识教育老师
博士后研究员招聘
硕博研究生招聘
行政人员招聘
Q&A
新闻通道
最新消息
媒体视角
CONTACT US
联系方式

地址:广东省汕头市大学路241号

邮编 :515063

© 广东以色列理工学院 版权所有 | 粤ICP备17036470号

Design by SHANGCE